top of page

Not Having A Good Memory Like Dory

Some people with autism can have a really good memory but others do not, in this blog I will be discussing to you what having a good memory is really all about. I have been lucky enough to have a good memory and from my past experience I can still remember things up until now, it’s like a special gift that I have. People can be really surprised with how much information I can absorb and how my mind really works.

Learning Lines And Remembering Dance Routines

When I was in education I was really passionate about musical theatre, dance, making short films, writing scripts and other productive things and still am. With having a good memory it allowed me to remember my lines for when I was playing a character, by doing so I would read my lines repeatively at least ten times until it got into my head. The next, step I would try and read it without the script and before I knew it I could remember my lines. It’s the same for learning a dance routine by going over the same steps until I could remember it. Also, copying and watching anything visual can help with remembering things. It was great for me to help other people when they couldn’t remember their dance routine or other things.

It is great to also, remember quotes from your favourite films and lyrics from your favourite songs.

Writing A Shopping List

When going food or casual shopping, I sometimes like to write down a list of things that I need to buy which, then can help me to remember it but, in other situations if I am shopping with my mum and she asks me to remember some products I would try and remember it. Some words such as: Milk, water and other things are easier to remember but, I do struggle to remember long words. Once something is on my mind I will remember it forever.

Memory Card Games

Anyone with a good memory should be good at playing card games, it’s easier when they are pictures because, you can visualise and remember where it was.

Being Organised And Keeping Your Room Tidy

Everyone is different when it comes to keeping their bedrooms how it should be, for me I like to make sure that, I know where everything is, if something get’s moved I would remember it straight away. I do not like having things being lost because, it makes me get very stressed and upset. I like to keep myself organised so if I am going out the next day I would pack my bag the day before and double check it to make sure, that I have everything that I need.

Remembering Day Trips Out, Faces, Holidays

One of my favourite things that I love to remember are going out on outings with your friends and family as well as going away on holiday. When I have had an amazing day out, I can remember what we got up to, sometimes what we wore but, not all the time. I can also, remember sometimes people faces, if i have seen them a lot or from my past. Not all the time I can remember names though unless I see them all the time.

Putting Objects In Order

Another thing is that I love to make sure that, I put my DVDS or certain objects in order sometimes if it’s in a sequel like the Harry Potter films for example. That way if I am looking for something with that particular title I know where to look for. Sometimes I like to go by the actors name for example Zac Efron I would put all of his films together. This may sound weird to people but, it’s a good format to have if you like to be organised or it is the way that you are.

There are so many things that I could discuss to you about why I love my memory so much but, everyone has their own different opinion and it is something that I would like to discuss if anyone has anything else to say.

One of my favourite quotes from Disney’s Aladdin that the Genie says is that: “You look like a prince on the outside. But I didn’t change anything on the inside.” We are different but it doesn’t change the way that we are.

Written by Kathleen McDermott


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page